Say! What Is This? LP (M'lady's)

  • Sale
  • Regular price $15.00
  • 1 available

Say! What Is This? is a collection of early, previously unreleased and rare Tronics recordings from between 1978 and 1983.

Tronics, led by Ziro Baby, who issued records between 1979 and 1983, are a musical rarity as things go. The releases brought Tronics and Ziro Baby, then and since, great acclaim being noted in the music press as “a swamp God”, “the essence of Rock n Roll”, “arguably, a pre-cursor for English Post Punk and Indie music” and being credited for issuing the first independent cassette album in 1980 that started the cassette music boom that continues today.

Despite the successes of the Tronics releases, being continually highly sought after and loved by so many, Tronics and Zarjaz Baby - the name that Ziro works under today with his group Freakapuss - remain rare, mysterious and enigmatic underground phenomena. Perhaps it was with this in mind that brought Brett Lyman, co-owner of M’lady’s Records, to remark that the recordings on this album were like finding a hidden room in the back of Tutankhamen’s tomb.

Over 90% of this album has never been heard by the public. Additionally, it makes an excellent complement to the reissue of the amazing TRONICS album What’s The Hubub Bub (MLADYS 9).

  1. Punk People
  2. Do You Hear Me
  3. Squiddly Diddly (LBBF Demo)
  4. Find Somewhere to Love
  5. Tonight
  6. They're Talking About Us (Live 1982)
  7. Spending Time (LBBF Demo)
  8. Time Off
  9. Punk Noise
  10. Luna Love
  11. Spontaneous Combustion
  12. Gotta Make It OK
  13. Goodbye