Feeling Figures

Migration Magic [PRNL052/KLP294] LP

  • Sale
  • Regular price $21.00
  • 4 available

FEELING FIGURES Migration Magic LP, 10 songs, 33RPM, a co-release with Perennial Records


Feeling Figures have tinkered away at the edge of the Montreal, Quebec scene, never fitting neatly into the ebb and flow of the city's cultural trends or its more traditionalist camps. A geographer, a music therapist, a writer, and an underground arts biz maverick: the four Figures have long been friends and collaborators in various musical formations and continue to propel multiple projects.

At the core of Feeling Figures is the Zakary Slax and Kay Moon songwriting partnership, which itself stretches back a decade. The pair first crossed paths during a vibrant period of musical upheaval in Sackville, New Brunswick (home of Sappyfest!), in the heart of Canada's Maritime provinces. After relocating to the big city a series of self-releases, shifting monikers, and revolving live lineups eventually coalesced with Thomas Molander and Joe Chamandy as Feeling Figures. This is the ultimate rhythmic vehicle and spiritual consorts for Slax & Moon's unconstrained syntheses of multiple eras of underground rock, punk, psychedelia, folk, and outsider pop. Their debut 7" of 2021 was an early entry in Montreal upstart label Celluloid Lunch's catalog.

Migration Magic was recorded in a flurry of live noise across two nights in December 2022. The Figs (as they are affectionately known to each other) had already recorded a full album’s worth of material earlier in the year. As the winter holidays grew near and a brief stint as openers for the nationally celebrated Ancient Shapes concluded, they knew they had something more to capture. Thomas brought his recording gear to the Studio Migration practice space and the quartet threw all their remaining material into the air. Some songs were drawn deep from the back-catalogs of Moon & Slax, others were new compositions, and 2 spontaneous covers were chosen to round out the set. The immediacy of these recordings, with their interplay of sweet melody and raw instrumentation, forged a new destiny for the group, ultimately arriving as the first Feeling Figures LP.     

Feeling Figures is comprised of writing duo of Zakary Slax & Kay Moon with scene stalwarts Thomas Molander and Joe Chamandy on rhythm. Their debut album, Migration Music is 10 tunes recorded live and mixed to 1/2” tape by the band in Montreal.

This release continues the rich tradition of DIY bands crafting instant pop hits entirely on their own terms, which has long been the hallmark of the International Pop Underground. Look for videos from singles “Across the Line” and “Movement," and a show or two up and around...it is quite assuring that whatever these times may bring bands can still put out music as good as Migration Music.

“Meet my favorite album of the year. Sophisticated garage-pop that embraces the Velvets at their most sonic yet sensitive, Aussie underground greats who honey-coat their humble punk with carefree melodies, Scotland's pension for timeless chainsaw jangle, and the kind of scruffy DIY delight that K does best.” - Tracy Wilson

Feeling Figures’ rock’n’roll atom smashery is nothing short of astonishing” – Gerard Cosloy

500 LP vinyl copies.

Kay Moon : Guitar, Vocals

Zakary Slax : Guitar, Vocals

Joe Chamandy : Bass

Thomas Molander : Drums


The Digital Version of this Album is Available via Bandcamp  



1. Dream Death

2. Across The Line

3. Don't Ever Let Me Know

4. I Should Tell You

5. Pour Un Instant

6. Seek and Hide

7. Movement

8. Sink

9. You Were Young

10. Remains


    FEELING FIGURES, "Across The Line" video