Curious Mystery

We Creeling [KLP225]

  • Sale
  • Regular price $20.00

The Curious Mystery stitch together 60's-styled psychedlia with smoky garage guitars, Eastern drones, and dynamic, post-soul experimentation; a new gospel. 2009's Rotting Slowly (KLP206) was a true debut album: a journey into new landscapes, charting the depths of canyons. With the release of We Creeling [KLP225], The Curious Mystery are no longer that mysterious stranger in town; they've left the bluffs and entered the valley. They run the drugstore, they shot the noose off the neck of the town drunk because they believe in redemption. There are new legends of where The Curious Mystery came from (the garages of Area 51?) and how much disorder there was before they brought the good light to Seattle. The truth will take its time.

We Creeling was recorded in 2010 by Karl Blau at Dub Narcotic Studio in Olympia, Wash. It is the band's second album for K. We Creeling features the vocal/guitar tandem of Shana Cleveland and Nicolas Gonzalez. Since releasing Rotting Slowly and completing two US tours, The Curious Mystery have expanded the seating capacity of their dinner table to include other weary travelers on this recording: Blau adding percussion, Bradford Button on bass, Gabriel Will (The Hive Dwellers) on violin, Andrew Dorsett (LAKE) on piano, and Kristian Garrard (Thousands) on drums.

The cover art for We Creeling is by Stacey Rozich.

The digital version of this album is available from Bandcamp.

  1. Up In The Morning
  2. Hear the Break
  3. Night Ride Reeling
  4. Hot Port
  5. Taste it
  6. Rocky XVII
  7. Space Shuttle
  8. Blue Limits
  9. Cool Kids in Tha Valley
  10. PB & J
  11. Rocky XVIII
  12. From the Garden