Karl Blau

Beneath Waves [KLP174]

  • Sale
  • Regular price $12.00

While Karl Blau's presence has been heard for years on numerous K releases by The Microphones, Little Wings, Wolf Colonel, D+, and on the Invisible Shield compilation [KLP151]; Beneath Waves is his first full-length solo album for K.

Beneath Waves was recorded at The Department of Safety in Anacortes by Dave Matthies (The Gift Machine) and produced by Karl Blau himself. Laura Veirs appears on a number of tracks, as does Karl’s brother Eddy, Nate Ashley and Dave Matthies.

The past years have found Karl recording and touring in Europe and North America with Nonesuch artist Laura Veirs, both as a band member and opening act. Blau has toured solo, started his KELP! Monthly label and organized What the Heck Fest in Anacortes, WA. Karl Blau's critically acclaimed Clothes Your I's [Knw-yr-Own] ranked #2 on Richie Unterberger's Rolling Stone top ten and received extensive college radio airplay. With Beneath Waves, Blau's inner artist no longer remains in the shadows. 

Karl Blau is a gifted vocalist, multi-instrumentalist and producer/visionary who collaborates brilliantly with artists both inside and outside of himself. Constant touring, insanely prolific recording and his monthly outpouring of handmade music in idiosyncratic packages (KELP! Monthly) is evidence of his HUGE work ethic.

  1. Crashing Waves
  2. My Johnny
  3. Dragon Song
  4. Slow Down Joe
  5. Into the Nada
  6. Notion
  7. Ode to Ocean
  8. Ode to Demons
  9. Shadow
  10. The Dark, Magic Sea