Various Artists

International Pop Underground Convention Compilation [KLP011]

  • Sale
  • Regular price $15.00
  • 7 available

This is a live compilation, documenting the International Pop Underground Convention held in Olympia, Wash., August, 1991. Many of these recordings were made throughout the week at the Capitol Theater, which also housed the Yo-Yo Studios at the time. Additional material was recorded at the North Shore Surf Club and Capital Lake Park. Some of these artists were already veterans (Fugazi, Beat Happening, Mecca Normal, Pastels, Melvins) while others are captured at their most nascent (Spinnanes, Ice Cream Truck, Kreviss). An invaluable collection of artists at their peak, playing at their most inspired.

Cover design by Stella Marrs.

The digital version of this album is available from Bandcamp

  1. "Clock Song (Go Girl Go)"- Scrawl
  2. "Shakedown"- Nation of Ulysses
  3. "Speedway Star"- Pastels
  4. "Charmicarmicat"- Melvins
  5. "Packin' a Rod"- L7
  6. "Jad Fair Drives Women Wild"- Spinnanes
  7. "Bill"- Seaweed
  8. "They Don't Call them Chihuahuas Anymore"- Shadowy Men On A Shadowy Planet
  9. "Sandi's Song"- Kreviss
  10. "Strong White Male"- Mecca Normal
  11. "Motorcycle Boy"- Courtney Love
  12. "Bionic"- Unwound
  13. "My Day"- Rose Melberg
  14. "Reprovisional"- Fugazi
  15. "Punk Rock Dream Come True"- Bratmobile
  16. "Bring on the Dancing Girls"- Girl Trouble
  17. "This Sex"- Kicking Giant
  18. "Impatience"- Fastbacks
  19. "Customer Service Breakthrough"- Mark Hosler, Steve Fisk & Bob Basanich
  20. "Nancy Sin"- Beat Happening
  21. "Reprise"- Various