Beat Happening

Beat Happening (KLP001)

  • Sale
  • Regular price $20.00
  • Will be in stock after

A hundred summer days bottled up inside one guitar. This release is the first Beat Happening album, reissued with lots of extra material recorded during 1983-85, the time during which the first album was originally recorded and released.

Bret, Heather and Calvin made music hot and bothered, the world listened with trepidation. As the first album released on K, KLP001, set a mood of irresistibility that has endured for twenty years.

The refurbished Beat Happening includes the original Greg Sage (the Wipers) produced sessions that comprised most of the original album and the first single ("Our Secret" / "What's Important"). Five of the songs were recorded while Beat Happening was living in Japan and then released as the Three Tea Breakfast cassette. There are also several songs that were originally included on various cassette compilations long out of print. 


  1. Our Secret 
  2. What's Important 
  3. Down At The Sea 
  4. I Love You 
  5. Fourteen 
  6. Run Down The Stairs 
  7. Bad Seeds (Live) 
  8. In My Memory 
  9. Honey Pot 
  10. The Fall 
  11. Youth 
  12. Don't Mix The Colors 
  13. Foggy Eyes 
  14. Bad Seeds 
  15. I Let Him Get To Me 
  16. I Spy 
  17. Run Down The Stairs 
  18. Christmas 
  19. Fourteen 
  20. Let's Kiss 
  21. 1, 2, 3 
  22. In Love With You Thing 
  23. Look Around 
  24. I Love You (Demo Snippet)