Knife Pleats

Hat Bark Beach LP + Download (Lost Sound Tapes)

  • Sale
  • Regular price $20.00
  • 4 available

Knife Pleats is the newest project from the prolific Rose Melberg, whose past projects include Tiger Trap, The Softies, Go Sailor, Gaze, Imaginary Pants, PUPS, and several solo records. The first singles from the Vancouver-based project, which features Kaity McWhinney and Tracey Vath of Love Cuts and drummer Gregor Phillips, recall the sounds Melberg is most known for: crisp and bouncy guitar pop and heartfelt lyrics. (Impose)

On “One Step Too Far,” Melberg contemplates the passage of time (“Please don’t change too much too fast these days won’t last long”) against lively arraignments. “Terrible” is slightly more pensive, a reflection of the inner workings of a relationship. Both tracks are sure to appeals to Melberg fans old and new. 

This 150 gram LP comes with a lyrics insert and digital download code.

Track listing: 

  1. Monocularly Blind
  2. Learn to Swim
  3. Chiming of Bells
  4. Terrible
  5. One Step Too Far
  6. Distant Ships
  7. Things I Hold
  8. The Mouse
  9. Wonderful
  10. Last Few Days
  11. Borders
Recorded by David Carswell and Gregor Phillips April-May 2015.
Mixed at JC/DC with David Carswell.
Mastered by Carl Saff.

Cover painting “Blast Off!” by Amy Greenan, from the collection of Daniel Handler.