Some Velvet Sidewalk

Shipwreck [KLP032]

  • Sale
  • Regular price $20.00
  • 5 available

This is the "lost" second Some Velvet Sidewalk album. It features Al Larsen with Tobi Vail (Spider and the Webs, the Go Team, Bikini Kill, Frumpies) on drums and Louise Olsen (the Go Team, Matrimony) on electric bass guitar.

Recorded in 1990, Shipwreck bridges the gap between the heartfelt incompetence of the early Some Velvet Sidewalk recordings and the pop chaos of Avalanche [KLP010] and Whirlpool [KLP024]. Included are some of the best songs from their live shows: "Mousetrap", "Puppy", "Dumb".

Recorded by Colm Meek in Olympia, and with Greg Freeman in San Francisco, California.

Bradley Sweek (Young Pioneers) plays guitar on "Unhitched", Donna Dresch plays guitar on "Dumb", lead bass on "Mousetrap". Steve Fisk mixed "Eyes Like Yours", "Eye of the Storm", "Wondercat".

  1. Eyes Like Yours
  2. Puppy
  3. Empty House
  4. Eye of the Storm
  5. Unhitched
  6. Dumb
  7. Boardwalkin'
  8. Wondercat
  9. Hopeless Case
  10. Mousetrap