Beat Happening

Beat Happening

  • Sale
  • Regular price $30.00

A hundred summer days bottled up inside one guitar. This release is the first Beat Happening album, reissued with lots of extra material recorded during 1983-85, the time during which the first album was originally recorded and released.

This album is now available as a DELUXE DOUBLE LP via Domino Records.

Bret, Heather and Calvin made music hot and bothered, the world listened with trepidation. As the first album released on K in 1985 this collection set a mood of irresistibility that has endured for decades.

The refurbished Beat Happening includes the original Greg Sage (Wipers) produced sessions that comprised most of the original album and the first single ("Our Secret" / "What's Important"). Five of the songs were recorded while Beat Happening was living in Japan and then released as the Three Tea Breakfast cassette. There are also several songs that were originally included on various cassette compilations long out of print. 


  1. Foggy Eyes
  2. Bad Seeds
  3. I Let Him Get to Me
  4. I Spy
  5. Run Down the Stairs


  1. In Love with You Thing
  2. I Love You
  3. Down at the Sea
  4. Our Secret
  5. What's Important
  6. fourteen
  7. Bad Seeds (live)


  1. Run Down the Stairs
  2. In My Memory
  3. Honey Pot
  4. The Fall
  5. Youth
  6. Don't Mix the Colors


  1. Christmas
  2. fourteen
  3. Let's Kiss
  4. 1, 2, 3
  5. Look Around
  6. I Love You (Demo)

Also available:

Beat Happening "Crashing Through (Meyering Mix)" / "The This Many Boyfriends Club" [IPU147]