Winston Hightower

Winston Hytwr [PRNL050/KLP292] LP

  • Sale
  • Regular price $21.00

Winston Hightower, Winston Hytwr LP

 12 songs 33RPM phonograph record, a co-release with Perennial Records

Born in Columbus, Ohio in March 1993, Winston Hightower is a prolific home recording artist with an expansive discography that crawls across space and genre. A staple in the Midwestern punk/DIY scene, his first work under the eponymous moniker was a self-released tape in January 2015. Since then, he has put out over 100 songs on tape, online and on video. The music defies easy categorization, and instead breezes through a landscape of synths that effortlessly blend pop, rock, rap and jazz. In doing so, Hightower continues to build a cohesive, ever-morphing experiment in pushing the boundaries of underground guitar music, all with his signature wit and charm. This body of work is almost entirely written and recorded alone in his room, causing many to refer to him as ‘the Black R Stevie Moore,’ a fitting epithet as his influences likewise include modern “lo-fi” progenitors such as Guided by Voices and Vivian Girls. Hightower has released much of his own work and more on his tape label, the FAH-Q Catalog, which boasts over 12 releases ( He has also collaborated with numerous other Ohio legends such as members of Times New Viking, Slant 6, and Ron House.
Both mysterious and effervescent, Winston shape shifts into roles that have also included pro skater (UNITY, Adidas) and touring hardcore guitarist/bassist (most recently with the groups Minority Threat and Twompsax). With such an extensive pedigree, and having toured ceaselessly since he was a teenager, it's shocking that Winston Hightower is largely unknown outside of the Midwest.
K records is thus thrilled to be putting out his first ever record, “Winston Hytwr” [KLP292/PRNL50] which will cull songs from his previous and impossible to find releases. Remixed by Capt. Tripps Ballsington and Remastered by Amy Dragon.

The Digital Version of this Album is Available via Bandcamp  


  1. Hip Swayer
  2. Insubordination Rules
  3. Deadbeat at Dawn
  4. Wainbow
  5. Blind Pig
  6. O N O
  7.  A Moment Like This
  8. Glitter Affair
  9. TF
  10. You & Me
  11. Hue Nose
  12. Apart Of It

Winston Hightower, "Insubordination Rules" video by Jolie M-A