Atmos LP / CS + DOWNLOAD (2060 Records)

  • Sale
  • Regular price $10.00
  • Will be in stock after

 Atmos is the most recent release by Olympia underground combo Middlewav. It's a lush and dark exploration of their dream pop world. Synthesizers (arpeggiating all over the place), endless tape delay, and gentle vocal harmonies come together to form a hypnotic and zen-like experience. Some songs on Atmos have a soft and creamy approach while others ask very tuff questions and are a bit more abrasive(istic). The EP was recorded, mixed and mastered (in true D.I.Y. style) at the band's former residence.

Middlewav was formed in 2011. The band consists of Keir Allison-Bourne (guitar, vocals), Mike Elliott (percussion), Jason Lafontaine (guitar, vocals), and Joe Dye (bass guitar). They are terribly groovy.

Atmos is available on LP or cassette and comes with a digital download code.

Track listing:

  1. Evil Ones
  2. Saudade
  3. Wayout
  4. Nika
  5. The Waves

More about Middlewav:

The band inched along beyond Keir Allison-Bourne's solo folk/electronic yearnings, picking up new members and ideas along the way. Earlier releases such as Volume 26 and Rosehip relied heavily upon acoustic guitars and spoken word.

In 2013 Keir started to experiment with electronic music and as a result released the albums Ghostinthetv and Patches which explored deep synth patches and glitchy drum beats. Mike Elliott joined the band as the drummer in 2013 and so Middlewav started to write and record more songs with a full percussion section. Four albums (Onefootinthedoor, Justaname, Projections, and Atmos) would be released during this period of cooperation between Keir and Mike. In 2015 Jason Lafontaine and Joe Dye joined Middlewav and started writing and recording a new album with the band.

Listen to Middlewav on bandcamp and check out the Middlewav Facebook page.