The Ghost Ease

RAW [KLP260]

  • Sale
  • Regular price $12.00
  • 3 available

Founded in 2010 by vocalist/guitarist Jem Marie, The Ghost Ease evolved into a three-piece featuring drummer Nsayi Matingou and bassist Laurence Vidal.

The Ghost Ease’s woozy and vivid self-titled debut was released on Talking Helps in 2013 before the Portland and Seattle-based trio partnered with Cabin Games for the powerful/seething Quit Yer Job EP and this Steve Fisk-recorded full-length album — aptly titled RAW.

RAW is simultaneously heavy and ethereal like an amethyst rain cloud. The 10 tracks ebb and flow from softened layers of melody to frenetic shreds of distortion. Matingou’s drumming moves nimbly while Vidal’s bass ensures the album’s swirling moments crash comfortably into the angular grunge freak-outs. The dreamy intensity of Marie’s guitar sounds are neatly woven around her voice. Her lilting cadence casts the album’s moods like spells. From the tuneful crusher “PJM” to the swelling of “Gemini Rise” and the majestic piano of “Bye, Love”, RAW embodies its name.

Also available:

The Ghost Ease, Psyche Lifeline LP

  1. RAW 
  2. PJM 
  3. Neptune Sun 
  4. Alight 
  5. Pareidolia 
  6. Twelve Twenty 
  7. Gemini Rise 
  8. 4BV 
  9. For Naught
  10. Bye, Love