Various Artists

K Phono Safari 5 Pak: Olympia Underground!

  • Sale
  • Regular price $40.00
  • Will be in stock after

Olympia, Washington has a bad rep, home base for snotty-nosed rockin' of a particularly unlistenable variety. Hmmm. The K Mail Order Dept. has gathered together five albums from the last decades by artists who have, in their own way, contributed to Olympia's stellar eminenceinfamyprestigedisgrace.

This Phono Safari 5 Pak includes the following phonograph records:

  1. Mirah (a)spera LP [KLP195
  2. IQU Chotto Matte a Moment! LP [KLP085]
  3. Dub Narcotic Sound System Degenerate Introduction LP [KLP157] 
  4. Angelo Spencer et les Hauts Sommets Love in the Morning [KLP256]
  5. Desolation Wilderness New Universe LP [KLP204]

More information:

  • Mirah (a)spera LP [KLP195]
    • Mirah's strongest asset, her sincerity and the care she takes in placing herself within her music, is offered without compromise. This brave trek through a fragile ancient forest unfolds revealing the destruction wrought by cruel conquest, recalls the relics of a love never realized, and decries the loss of ancient wisdom. We sing for death and the living which stays alive, navigate our relationship to our ceaseless wants as resources disappear, hold on strong to love in a sinking world. Teaming up with Phil Elverum (The Microphones, Mt. Eerie) for 3 of the 10 tracks, she also enlisted the engineering prowess of fellow Portlanders Tucker Martine (The Decemberists, Sufjan Stevens, Laura Veirs) and Adam Selzer (Norfolk and Western, M. Ward) to complete this beautiful voyage. Featured musicians include Chris Funk (of The Decemberists), Tara Jane O’Neil and Lori Goldston.
  • IQU Chotto Matte a Moment! LP [KLP085]
    • IQU turns the electronica underground inside out with their debut album Chotto Matte a Moment! IQU are in harmony with the analog instrumentation of the past, deftly melding it with the present modern day tools of the trade, connecting the dots and loops between drum 'n' bass, soundtrack, kraut rock and bedroom trip hop. Some have pontificated that the future of pop music will blend the rock, rave and dance scenes together. IQU thrive in this climate, forging their own niche and creating a space conducive to the ever-blurring lines of modern musical styles. Recorded at Dub Narcotic Studio with Calvin Johnson.
  • Dub Narcotic Sound System Degenerate Introduction LP [KLP157]
    • Degenerate Introduction is the much anticipated full-length album from Dub Narcotic Sound System. An unsafe mix of radioactive garage soul sound sweeping the mining towns of the west; the subterranean dance floors of the east will recoil in anticipation. Drop the needle, pump it hardcore. This is a 3-piece you just won't want to miss featuring Miss Heather Dunn (Lois, Tiger Trap), Christopher Sutton (Hornet Leg, the Gossip) and Calvin Johnson (all the rest). Turn it blessedly up.
  • Angelo Spencer et les Hauts Sommets Love in the Morning [KLP256]
    • Love in the Morning was written and recorded in Chambéry, France, the heart of the Alps (where Angelo grew up) over the course of a week. With the help of old friends and amazing musicians Luc Detraz (Imperial Tiger Orchestra) and Karol Skonitcki (Super Fedor), Love In The Morning is a short, precise, and undeniably groovy love affair! With re-purposed autotune and raw, uncompressed sound recorded by Djan (the man behind the Larsen Records sound), the album is minimal yet so full. These guys don't joke around. This shit was made for dancing!
  • Desolation Wilderness New Universe LP [KLP204]
    • Swooning guitars, found sounds, synthesizer trills, forward percussion and dream vocals; New Universe [KLP204] is the second full-length album by Desolation Wilderness, the brain child of Nic Zwart, who also plays as Electric Sunset and Drone Ranger. After touring the country extensively, this album is the labor of a restless engine; postcards from being constantly on the move. Musical participants include members of LAKE and the Hive Dwellers.