Various Artists

CD Safari: Positively 4th Avenue

  • Sale
  • Regular price $15.00

The Olympia underground music scenes have been going strong for decades, and now healthier than ever with labels like Perennial, Brown Interior Music, Sultan Serves, Antiquated Future, Rumbletowne and many more producing fab new sounds on every block. The K Mail Order Dept. has gathered together this CD Safari: Albums Olympia Underground featuring ten compact discs from the K catalogue exploring many different genres, eras, people, and perspectives of the Olympia underground scenes.

Receive all ten albums for $15.00:

  1. Desolation Wilderness New Universe [KLP204]
  2. Shinin’ Director’s Cut CD [KLKP111]
  3. Old Time Relijun Witchcraft Rebellion CD [KLP128]
  4. Dub Narcotic Sound System Bone Dry CD [KLP068]
  5. C.O.C.O. Play Drum + Bass CD [KLP183]
  6. Internal/External Featuring… CD [KLP106]
  7. Calvin Johnson Before the Dream Faded… CD [KLP170]
  8. IQU and Friends Teenage Dream CD [KLP108]
  9. Subdebs She’s So Control CD [KLP101]
  10. Some Velvet Sidewalk Generate! [KLP062]

More information:

  • Desolation Wilderness New Universe [KLP204]
    • Swooning guitars, found sounds, synthesizer trills, forward percussion and dream vocals; New Universe [KLP204] is the second full-length album by Desolation Wilderness, the brain child of Nic Zwart, who also plays as Electric Sunset and Drone Ranger.
  • Shinin’ Director’s Cut CD [KLKP111]
    • DJ Take One rocked many a party during his stint in Olympia, during which time he recorded the break beat album Emergency Breaks [KLP089] and rocked many a house party, besides his regular stints at downtown clubs. Shinin’ Director’s Cut EP is put together by the production team of Take One and None, with a host of Northwest and L.A. hip hop artists guesting in various roles: MC, producers, spiritual guides. Heads participating include Vitamin D, Universal, Dr. Oop, PM the Praying Mantis and members of Black Anger/Bedroom Produksionz.
  • Old Time Relijun Witchcraft Rebellion CD [KLP128]
    • Old Time Relijun and Arrington de Dionyso really hit their stride with this epic blast of gingerbread house on fire, concocting their most potent pagan potions and clogging rhythms morning breath.
  • Dub Narcotic Sound System Bone Dry CD [KLP068]
    • It’s Olympia Gone to Memphis Vol. Two: the result of the second Dub Narcotic Sound System session at the famed Royal Recording Studio. This EP was produced by Stax Records alumnus William Brown. The song “Bass Hump” features horns by Memphians Ben Cauley (a founding member of the BarKays), trumpet, Jack Hale (Memphis Horns), trombone, and Lannie McMillan, saxophone.
  • C.O.C.O. Play Drum + Bass CD [KLP183]
    • The third album from C.O.C.O. (Olivia Ness and Chris Sutton) and it is def the most hardcore basement garage soul dance party committed to disc! Chris has continued to play with Hornet Leg, Hooded Hags and the Gossip.
  • Internal/External Featuring… CD [KLP106]
    • Featuring… is an album by Internal/External, the brainchild of producer Paul Schuster. After producing the debut album by Julie Ruin, Paul had the idea of creating more rhythm tracks and inviting other Olympia artists to contribute vocal and instrumental parts to form new songs. Participants include Tae Won Yu, Lois Maffeo, Rachel Carns, Kanako Wynkoop (in above photog with fist), Justin Trosper, Calvin Johnson, Katheen Hanna, DJ K.O., a real smorgasbord of ’90s Olympia music.
  • Calvin Johnson Before the Dream Faded… CD [KLP170]
    • The second solo album from Calvin, including the oft-requested “Rabbit Blood” and “When You Are Mine”. Guest artists and producers include Mirah, Khaela Maricich (the Blow), Phil Elverum (the Microphones), Johnny Jewel (Glass Candy), Devin Welch (Chromatics), Adam Forkner (White Rainbow), Jona Bechtolt (Y.A.C.H.T.).
  • IQU and Friends Teenage Dream CD [KLP108]
    • As a follow-up to their epic Chotto Matte a Moment! [KLP085] album, electronica experimentalists IQU invited pals and collegues to contribute remixes of their song “Teenage Dream”. Participants include Looper, Sonic Boom, Lexaunculpt, Team 714, Dub ID, Take One & Red Clay, and Concentrick. A real head trip.
  • Subdebs She’s So Control CD [KLP101]
    • Star Athena (who contributed her gallant efforts to the Selector Dub Narcotic [KLP082] compilation) rounds up some wild-eyed compatriots to bash these punked hard pop anathemas.  Wonder drugs never stood a chance.
  • Some Velvet Sidewalk Generate! [KLP062]
    • Storm clouds converge as Some Velvet Sidewalk dives into cell division, underbeat meets overdrive, infinite time and the deep patterns of the universe. Don't bewail but do beware: Generate! will circle back on you and no matter what direction your wagon is facing this will fix it good.